Here is another short music lesson from tbotts music on how to calculate the notation of a diatonic major scale. The method for the calculation is the same for all the twelve major keys. The diatonic scale is made up of five whole tones and two semitones, from the tonic (first note) of the scale we have two whole tones, next we have a semitone, then three further whole tones finishing with a second semitone. We hope this lesson will be of use to all you aspiring piano players and may we take this opportunity to wish you many hours of happy piano playing!!!


About tbottsmusic

I am an internet music tutor and pianist. I am also a retired sales and marketing executive. My hobbies are Music, gardening, reading, photography and I.T. I am married with two surviving adult children, five grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. I live in East Yorkshire UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s